Royal Astronomical Society of Canada Ottawa Centre

The Ottawa Centre is one of twenty-three centres comprising the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada — an organization dedicated to the advancement of astronomy and allied sciences. The Ottawa Centre was formed in 1906 and has about 370 members.

The Ottawa Centre holds its monthly *Observers Group* meeting on the first Friday of every month, starting at 8:00 p.m., in the auditorium of the National Museum of Science and Technology. The meetings are fairly informal. Members give talks or slide shows about their recent observations of the planets, meteors, comets, deep-sky objects, etc., and bring us up to date on their latest efforts with astrophotography, CCD imaging and various equipment projects. Interested non-members are always welcome at these *Observers Group* meetings.

Centre facilities include the Indian River Observatory near Almonte, which houses several instruments including an excellent 16inch reflecting telescope. The Ottawa Centre also operates an astronomical book library, and a telescope loan library.

Annual membership in the Ottawa Centre costs \$36 for regular members (outside Canada, \$36 US), or \$22.50 for junior members. Members receive the yearly *Observer's Handbook*, the bi-monthly *Journal*, the National Museum of Science and Technology's bi-monthly *SkyNews* magazine as well as the club's newsletter *AstroNotes*.

The Ottawa Centre of the RASC may be contacted at P.O. Box 33012, 1974 Baseline Rd., Nepean, Ont. K2C 0E0; or by call (613) 830-3381.

INFORMATION

The Ottawa Centre Of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada

> Information (613) 830 3381 Ottawa.rasc.ca

Ottawa Centre Executive Committee

President: Vice President: Secretary: Treasurer: Councillors: Brian McCullough Hilderic Browne Lee MacDonald Stephen Nourse Paul Boltwood, Yves Demers Carmen Rush Rob McCallum

Librarian:Rob McCallumOutreach:Debra TignerNational Council Representatives:Richard Wagner, John Thompson

1st Past President: Alan Hildebrand2nd Past President: Richard Wagner3rd Past President: Robert Dick

Come and join our next meeting - no need to be a member - at the Museum of Science and Technology - 8PM on the 1st Friday of each month. Or attend one of the Star Parties held at various locations near the city.

Observer Group Executive

Chairperson: Gary Boyle 823-0201 Vice-Chair: Dave Bennett Astrophotography: Open Comets & Telescope Training: Glenn LeDrew Deep Sky: Gary Susick Instrumentation: Rock Mallin Lunar & Planetary: Open Satellites: Doug Luoma Meteors: Pierre Martin Meteorites: Open Astronomy Day: J. Peter Williams Historian: Carmen Rush **Hospitality**: Art & Anne Fraser **Occultations:** Brian Burke **Recorder**: Cindy Williams The Cutting Edge: Paul Comision Variable Stars: John Thompson Ted Bean Loan Library: Lev Mykytczuk (Low) Technophile: Pat Browne Observatory Committee Chair: Al Seaman Light Pollution: Open Web Site: Yves Demers